What to Expect and How to be Successful Applying for a Coding Bootcamp

·

9 min read

laptop screen covered with code on a table beside a cellphone I recently went through the approval process for a coding bootcamp. I was successful. Thankfully. But it wasn't easy and it can be overwhelming. Especially if you didn't grow up with tech like a lot of the younger crowd. But that doesn't mean you can't be successful or that tech isn't for you.

I grew up before computers. I watched them grow up really. But the more I used them and the more I learned I became as hooked as anyone.

I can remember the MySpace days of playing with CSS and HTML. I also ran a blog a few years ago. Someone asked me when I was talking about trying to find a job that worked with with interests and physical limitations why I didn't try coding.

I'll be honest. When I grew up no one talked about going into computers. Most people didn't have computers, we learned typing on typewriters and computers were just coming into schools as we were getting out the door of highschool.

I thought back to the fun I had with the little coding I had done before. I knew it wasn't easy but even difficult I enjoyed the challenge. I began considering what I could do with the skills and researching. I realized that this was something that I wanted. I jumped in.

I didn't start with bootcamps at first. I grew up in the era where college or university was pushed on people. So I went that route first. But I had tried university before and it didn't work with me anymore than the idea of a ton of loans hanging over me does. I thrive better in smaller environments.

Plus, if I was brutally honest with myself all that technical math was never going to be something I survived. I also need something more flexible because of my disability and in a pandemic world virtual school is already a daily in my home. So finding bootcamps really opened a door for me.

I spoke to some recruiters, from a bootcamp and got a feel for the beginning of the process and had some questions answered. There were things to finish up in my life first. With them done, I started looking at boot camps again.

Finding the Right Bootcamp

I found a program that seemed to offer more than the first bootcamp. I also started looking at reviews of bootcamps and showing the programs to people in the tech world. It seemed like the right idea to have another set of eyes to make sure I wasn't just dazzled.

I also took the time to read reviews. I looked on and off their website because we all know they won't post negative reviews on their site. I also looked up hashtags, and anything that mentioned them. I also did that with the first program so I could do a bit more comparing. (Not all bootcamps are equal, I can not stress enough, compare, compare, compare!)

I jumped in, putting the call in and talking to recruiters or sales person of sorts. Then moved on to a learning advisor. Who answered more of my questions and put me in touch with people for funding. While waiting to hear how the funding would go, the advisor asked if I wanted to start an application. I jumped on it figuring if nothing else at least that would be done.

Bootcamp Application Process

  • You do your initial call talking to a recruiter or sales person. They give you the basics. A learning advisor helps you get started. If you are a more complicated case that involves funding then they move you right on to a learning advisor. Then you can decide whether or not to go forward.
  • You fill out an application. You submit some documents and once that is approved you move on. It's about this step you are also given access to the Bootcamp challenge once you pass their required step. I suggest starting it right away. It's not long but the faster you can get through it the better.
  • You have an interview with admissions. Mine was by video for 30 minutes. I am doing online. So yours may differ if signing up for in person. It's a get to know you conversation. Honestly, the best advice is the simplest advice be yourself. Be unashamed about your life experiences and the path you walked. During this interview you will be given a deadline for submitting your challenge. They will also ask how it's going. Be honest.

I admitted that I didn't have a lot of work with JavaScript and it was kicking my butt. My learning advisor (seriously, bless him!) sent me an email afterward with some resources and they made all the difference.

  • The last step will be submitting your challenge work. It's not long though it can be overwhelming when you add everything together and toss in a side of nerves.

Submit your challenge as soon as you can. I also advise emailing the person you had your interview with and letting them know that you submitted it. I let my interviewer know I had submitted which gave him a heads up and he found time to check. I knew within the hour I was accepted.

Best Advice When Applying for a Bootcamp

Treat it like a job. Take it seriously. When you email people make sure they are professional. Write follow up thank you notes. If nothing else this can only help. Remember these people are trying to figure out if you will be a good fit for their program. You are going to be known as one of their graduates. You want them to like you. Put your best foot forward.

Read everything your learning advisor include in those emails. The links are a gold mine of information. I can't stress this enough. I know it sounds almost fake when people say it but these people really are here to help you and help you succeed. I have gone through my emails and links numerous times since getting them. It helped me so much. I honestly don't know if I would have been as successful had I skipped reading everything.

Ask Questions. You want to seem interested, even a little bit excited. When you have your initial phone call but especially your interview. I know it can be hard to come up with questions when you're trying to digest all this new information and also trying to answer questions about yourself but finding one thing is better than nothing. For me that one thing was the Capstone project because as much as I love working with people, presentations are terrifying and I wanted all the information I could get so I could start researching.

This is true even after your approved. It may be even more important then. Ask what you can do to get started preparing for the program. Ask if they have any advice for someone just starting the program. Or even if they themselves have gone through one and what they found useful.

Be honest. We all haven't had simple perfect lives. I was applying as a middle aged disabled adult with no work experience. But I had volunteer experience and life experience and I drew on those for my interview in an honest and unashamed way. I followed the advice given to me to be myself. I used my life experience and my unique perspective on life to show why I would be the best fit for this program.

Don't make them wait. This falls in with the take it seriously but it goes deeper than that. My learning advisor called me when I got accepted. He wanted to reach out over the phone to congratulate me. I was one of the fastest people through the approval process. He said most people took 3-4 weeks to be approved. I took 7 days. Of that two were a weekend. He also said that included lots of pushing to get people to finish the challenge and giving people extensions to finish it. You don't want to make people wait, or seem uninterested. I get that life keeps us busy but you need to make time. If you're struggling, be honest about it.

I kept the thoughts about why I wanted to do this in the front of my mind the entire process. I also did some extra preparing that I know really helped me prepare and get through the process. It gave me the push to motivate myself to keep going and to not just 'do it tomorrow.'

Facing Our Self-Doubt

If the idea of interviews makes you nervous, I hear you. I am the same way. I hate talking about myself. But I knew it was unavoidable. I have dreams and to chase them I would need to embrace my inner strength. For some that can be enough to give them enough doubt about whether they would be approved.

Write out the important things you want to be able to mention during your interview. I did two drafts. I love words and I always end up being wordy. One draft was for my thinking it out in paragraphs, draft two was point form. The first draft help me have an idea of wording and let me practice. The second draft was so I had something to glance at while talking. (Disclaimer: I never glanced once. You may find if you read them enough, you don't actually use it for the interview because you know it.)

Write out your goals too. One year, two, five and ten. They may not ask you quite so specifically but they will ask. So it's good to have an idea. If you don't know, I suggest sitting down and thinking about it.

Do you want to be in the industry, do you want to freelance? Are you looking to design websites or build apps.. what would you like to do if you could choose? Preparing helps not only with your nerves but it also helps you answer those questions, giving you a better interview experience.

Dress your best. My interview note said it was casual or business casual. I suggest always go business casual. If you're on video, even if you just go business casual on top. It can only help.

I also recommend telling people what you're doing. Let them be your cheerleaders. It will help with self-doubt. But always remember, worst case scenario you don't get approved. All that is, is extra motivation to find more tools and to spend more time learning what you need to, to wow them the next time you apply.

But don't count yourself out already. Put your best foot forward. Paste a smile on your face even when you're nervous. Fake it till you make it as they say. I am proof that it can happen.

Good Luck.