Learning to Code

Advice for Beginners from a Beginner

·

2 min read

thomas-tastet-hSODeSbvzE0-unsplash.jpg

There is a LOT of opinions out there on where to start when it comes to learning to code or having even just a little interest in learning more.

The most common thing I heard was to learn this language or that language depending on who I was talking to. Even from people who didn't know jack about the language they were suggesting. They just heard it from someone, who heard it from someone.

I also had a free online class suggested for computer science.

It's all terrible advice. It's confusing and overwhelming. It can make learning to code seem more intimidating than it may already be.

The Best Advice to Learn Code

The best advice I got for learning to code all came from a Google search.
It can all be pared down to one sentence. %[youtube.com/watch?v=mvK0UzFNw1Q&list=LL..

Do not learn to program.

Learn to Solve a problem.

For me it all started because I really enjoy websites, making them, writing content, etc. But I wanted to know more than just making them easy to look at.

I needed a starting point. I started with HTML/CSS because it was something I had basic experience with. But honestly, it is a good starting point for someone who has no other coding experience.

The second best advice I would give, is to remember, not everyone is going to be a great fit for you as a teacher. Shop around, if you are taking webinars, you may need to take more than one on a particular topic to find a good teacher that fits how you learn.
Take the same webinar more than once if you feel like you missed some things, some people just need to review something a couple of times before they get it.

Don't be afraid to explore. Find tutorials, ask questions, connect with people while your learning.

Lastly, give yourself a lot of grace. Your first few times coding will probably suck. You will get better. Stick with it and you will get it. The same way with everything we have all grown to learn through out our lives.