Code Walker Diaries

The Beginning

·

2 min read

I came into the idea of learning code rather unexpectedly. I started going back to school to do some upgrading. A few months later covid hit and everything in my life got thrown into a blender. Covid made me re-examine my life and I realized rather quickly that I needed to find a path that I loved and fit my life.

Someone I know casually threw out coding one day and I paused. It was never anything I had really considered doing. I'm old enough to remember things like Myspace and every one learning HTML to make it look how they wanted. But I am also old enough that I didn't grow up with a computer. So as much as I have always loved computers, I never really thought about them in terms of a career.

cookie-the-pom-gySMaocSdqs-unsplash(1).jpg

I'm a single parent so everything I do, has to be flexible. I'm also living on one income so that means that everything I do has to be affordable. I looked into all the traditional ways to learn code, education and bootcamps.

But my piggy bank isn't hiding the 10 grand for a boot camp or anything close enough to go back to school. andre-taissin-5OUMf1Mr5pU-unsplash.jpg

I did some research and some serious thinking. I am going to learn code. I plan to learn as much as I can along the way and I've decided that this blog is going to document that journey.